I work with wonderful people. There are a dozen of us on the team. We work well together and genuinely enjoy one another’s company and friendship. When someone has a baby, we throw a shower. For a milestone anniversary with the company, we celebrate that. When someone is ill, we provide support. When someone leaves the company, we bid a fond farewell. Birthdays often involve surprise treats. We get together for lunch. We go to movies. We laugh a lot. It’s all great, and I’ve always happily participated in and contributed to these things.
Alas, I’ve never been on the receiving end of any of it. My milestone anniversary with the company passed without note, as did a milestone birthday. When I had major surgery … nothing. Today I received an invitation to contribute to a group housewarming gift for one of my colleagues. Normally, I would be all in. The thing is, I moved to a new house five months ago. All of my co-workers know this. And yet they didn’t band together for a gift.

I am confident that I’m well-liked and respected, but I can’t figure out why I’m not on the collective radar. I find myself really annoyed by this. Should I just let it go, or can you offer any advice on how to let them know that this is kind of hurtful and insensitive (without actually saying that, of course!)?

I’m planning to retire from this company within the next few years, and I’m already expecting (and pre-disappointed) that it will be a nonevent.


genuinely: in a real and sincere way

alas: used when mentioning a fact that you wish was not true