We have a 15-year-old daughter who is very introverted. She is happiest being home alone. She has a group of friends she has known for about nine years, and the eight of them often do things together. As they have grown up, the other girls have branched out into sports and other time-intensive hobbies, while my daughter prefers to spend time drawing and painting.

She will go in on group activities, but usually only if her one best friend is there with her. Otherwise, she prefers to stay home. My husband has a similar introverted and loner personality. I, on the other hand, like to see friends and family a few times a week.

I can’t help but feel anxious about her not having friends, because it reminds me of feeling left out in my teen and young adult years. She truly seems not to seek others out.

How can I relax and be sure that she isn’t me and that she is content with being more alone?