My husband and I have wonderful friends: a husband and wife, and their 20-year-old daughter. They live on a gorgeous island, and several times each year, we vacation together in each other’s homes. These visits usually last 7 to 10 days, and during this time, we shop, talk and eat meals together. We always have a lovely time.

The problem is, I often feel the need each day to withdraw and recharge my batteries. After a full day of being social, I crave some privacy. I don't mind my husband's company, but I find that too much of a good thing is, well, too much.

When the visits occur in my home, it’s not too bad for me. I can retire to my room, or read a book, and I usually can have time on my own. When we visit them, however, I feel as though they are trying too hard to dazzle me. They schedule a variety of activities, and I frequently feel obligated to participate.

I have told our friends that, going forward, I really would not mind taking a room in a hotel, or renting a private home during our visits, and sleeping there instead. I did make it seem as though I was suggesting doing so for their convenience, as I could not find the words to express my issue without sounding rude. I do love these people dearly, but I no longer want to endure feeling drained when I know it is not necessary.

Please help.