My husband and I are both now 70. We have four adult children. Our daughter lives in a different country, and before covid, we would visit one another at least once a year. It has been sad for us that our grandchildren are so far away, even though technology has enabled us to have a good relationship.

We were finally able to visit them in person last summer after almost four years. While talking to her father recently, our daughter told him that, ever since his birthday, she’d been thinking she’d like to go on a trip with just him, and that she thinks she can easily get away for two weeks to make it happen. She did not make this offer to me.

I don’t think that I need to be included in a special father-daughter trip, but the fact that she doesn’t have the desire to have a similar special time with me has hurt me deeply. How do I get over this?


ever since: continuously since